1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can I return to writing while teaching, too?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by zward3, Feb 16, 2020.

1. zward3

zward3 New commenter

I can and I will, George Bernard Shaw.
    Truth is, teachers don’t ‘do’ because they’re too busy earning a living.

I am an experienced teacher. An English teacher. The grammar pedant in school who howls with derision and irritation every time a colleague put’s an apostrophe in the wrong place.

I’ve also been an independent parent for 23 years.

Back to the rant. George Bernard Shaw famously wrote, “He who can does; he who cannot, teaches.” Cheeky gobshite.

I’ve been challenged with this smug logic a few times. I argued back. Years later, it bothers me that this dismissive maxim could define me. So I have decided that alongside teaching, I’m going to begin writing…again.

Feels daunting.

It was easier when I had nothing to lose.
    After university in the 1990s, I fell into a job as a travel journalist in Singapore and Malaysia, on a graduate trainee scheme with a large U.K publishing group. Something of a career upgrade from backpacker pot-washing survival working in a Penang noodle stall.

Months on, I was writing for Travel Trade Gazette Asia! Launched! Articles and reviews led to jaunts and junkets, glitzy launches and late-night drinks parties. I loved this life, but hated living in straitjacketed Singapore.