1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can I look at your planning?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by shikara, Apr 9, 2019.

1. shikara

shikara New commenter

I am a manager in a school in which the teachers, prior to my arrival were not planning effectively - or sadly at all in some cases! I have a very difficult task ahead. Some of the teachers have denied me the right to look at their planning, saying that it belongs to them. Any advice on how to handle this?

2. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

We don't do weekly or daily planning-at least not in a formal "hand it in" sense. Teachers can plan/not plan as they want. We look at progress in books over time.
    We have one-page termly planning that shows what we will be covering in different subjects but that's it!

3. sparkleghirl

sparkleghirl Star commenter

I can imagine that this would set hackles raising. A new manager, telling the teachers they're not planning effectively and demanding to see their planning.

Why do you consider it ineffective? Have you explained this to them?

Other than outline early plans, my planning is largely in my head, not written down. Doesn't mean it's not effective.

4. peakster

peakster Star commenter

You could start by not making assumptions like the one in your initial posting.

Have you been a manager very long ?

5. ajrowing

ajrowing Occasional commenter