1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can I declare a breach of contract

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Bytor, Oct 12, 2015.

1. Bytor

Bytor Occasional commenter

Hello folks.

I'm new to supply teaching.

I am with an agency who secured a post for me.

Initially it was to be supply for a few days, but the school decided to extend when I started.

I worked a Friday, completed the timesheet, and it was approved the following Monday.

I did not receive payment for this on the following Friday.

I called the agency, and was told me that the start of the placement on the Friday meant it was too late to sort out payment for the following Friday. I had to phone them to receive this excuse.

Is such a delay the norm when starting a new placement at the end of a week?
    A week to process the payment should be sufficient, especially as the online timesheet was up and running, and approved by the school.

Can I declare a breach of contract and go directly with the school and sign a contract with them without either of us facing a financial penalty?

Any advice or input greatly appreciated.

Yours

Bytor

2. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

The system is going to be different between different agencies but if your claim was cleared on the Monday that might have been too late for payment that week. You should get the money the following week.

One trick I have used in the past is submit a claim for Monday to Thursday on a Thursday evening to ensure I get that money promptly since it is sometimes possible to miss the Friday deadline if I get home late.

3. teacha

teacha Occasional commenter