1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can I be denied interview- Am I being unreasonable?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by RonaldMcDonald, Mar 8, 2020.

1. RonaldMcDonald

RonaldMcDonald New commenter

I am in my 4th year at my secondary academy. I have been for two interviews this year, one before christmas for a HoD role, and one 2 weeks ago for a Teacher role.

2 weeks ago, I was successful, but they were unable to offer me the role as they said my employer ticked some things on my reference that 'required improvement'. This is two weeks after the head told me they had upgraded my teaching internally to grade 1 outstanding.

My head phoned them, and they then offered me a role starting in April, but I had applied for the one starting in September as I wasn't prepared to leave my two GCSE year 11 groups 4 weeks before their exams.

Now my current line manager and Head Teacher are saying things like they don't want me missing any more days for interview because of my year 11 groups, as apparently I have already missed '10 year 11 lessons this year'.

I have to miss half an hour for a consultation to have a wisdom tooth removed next week. I have had 2 sick days in 4 years, and two days off this year for an NVPQML course I am on.

My year 11 results are outstanding, my two groups have both achieved results in Mocks this week that would exceed expectations if they were to replicate in the summer (they will do better). I feel like they are ready to throw me under the bus just for wanting to leave...and to think I was sad to be leaving (when I thought I could)...more fool me.