1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can head change my working arrangements?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Gorannel, Mar 7, 2012.

1. I have been a job-share teacher for almost 20 years and have had 3 job-share partners in that time. I have worked from R to Yr 4 in the same First School in that time. The Head has just announced to my job-share partner (not me!) that from April I will be covering PPA and that the Deputy Head (who has been doing the PPA) will take my role. Currently my job-share partner and I work 2 and a half days each week but actually work from Wednesday lunch to the next Wednesday lunch - so a week on, a week off. We have had this regime for almost 4 years. This would end and we would all work set days.
    I have many concerns but not least what appears to be a significant change to my contract as I would no longer be working as a job-share but in fact doing a part time job.
    Can the Head do this? I know to contact the union and have already made an initial query. Just interested to get some views.
    Thanks

2. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

This is not my area of expertise.... but my thoughts are that if there are good business reasons for the change your head can. Job-share effectively means you are employed part-time already, and what is being proposed is an alternative way of arranging your hours.

3. becky70

becky70 New commenter

The head can deploy teaching staff however (s)he sees fit - it is up to your head whether you have your own class or do PPA cover.