1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can anyone help me with lesson ideas to motivate a tough year 6 class?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by mrsb1234, Mar 6, 2011.

1. Hello, I am a PGCE student and I am shortly starting a 4 week placement with a tough year 6 class in a fairly deprived area where the ratio of boys to girls is 3:1. Over half the class is on the SEN register and some of the chilldren have pretty rotten home lives. There are lots of football loving alpha males and I want to do my best to get them to use their energy in a positive way. Has anyone got had any advice for an engaging project I could do with them? There is lots of outside space and the school has good ICT facilities. The teacher is very supportive and happy for me to try out new ideas. They are just finishing off WW2 which they have enjoyed. Thanks very much.

2. Hello, I am a PGCE student and I am shortly starting a 4 week placement with a tough year 6 class in a fairly deprived area where the ratio of boys to girls is 3:1. Over half the class is on the SEN register and some of the chilldren have pretty rotten home lives. There are lots of football loving alpha males and I want to do my best to get them to use their energy in a positive way. Has anyone got had any advice for an engaging project I could do with them? There is lots of outside space and the school has good ICT facilities. The teacher is very supportive and happy for me to try out new ideas. They are just finishing off WW2 which they have enjoyed. Thanks very much.