1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can anyone help me with a-e and ai?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by FenellaF, Jan 16, 2011.

1. FenellaF

FenellaF New commenter

Hi, I am a year 3 teacher with limited phonics skills. My bottom group are looking at the ai sound this week. I know that if a word ends in the ai sound then its spelt ay, (apart from crayon - typical!) but is there a spelling rule for whether its a-e or ai? Or do they simply have to learn which word is spelt which way?
    Any help would be very much appreciated.
    Thank you.

2. Have a look at the Support for Spelling document from the DfES. You can download it and it gives ideas about teaching this in the Year 2 section.
    Going back to your original question - there are several different ways to spell /ai/ and the a-e one is usually found at the end of a word.

3. This sounds like the group are in Phase 5 of letters and sounds - alternative spellings. Have a look in there for some ideas or as the OP said, Support for Spelling. I'm not aware of a spelling rule for a_e or ai (but that's not to say that there isn't one!), so I teach my chidlren to try both ways and see which one they think looks right - (then check it!)
    HTH

4. mprimaryz

mprimaryz New commenter

phonicsplay.co.uk

best £10 I ever spent. It follows the letters and sounds scheme of work plus it's got all the plans and resources you'll need. I use it everyday!

5. It's not that the 'ay' spelling is at the end of words, it's that the 'ai' spelling is not found at the end of words.
    There are many words with the 'ay' spelling alternative in the middle such as 'mayor, mayonnaise, crayon, played, saying, [plural words] trays' and so on.