1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can an overseas trained Q.T.S. holder (Induction Year recognized) complete an NQT year in the UK?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by lacris, Jul 16, 2015.

1. I am an overseas trained Teacher from a EU country where our Degrees are automatically linked to a Q.T.S. in the UK.

Teachers qualified in my country, upon submitting their overseas Degree with the Teaching Agency are automatically awarded a Q.T.S., where is is clearly stated that ''The holder of this Q.TS. is excempt the Induction Year, due to the European Immigration law law ''blahblahblah''.

This means that Teachers from my country are fully recognized and eligible to teach starting from MP point 1 like any other person that has just completed their Induction Year in the UK.

However due to lack of UK experience and curriculum knowledge it is impossible for them to find a job.

So I was wondering what if one of us wanted to work as an NQT to get the experience? Either take an official NQT year or just get hired on an NQT scale basis to receive the UK experience.

I would appreciate any info!

2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter

The biggest difficulty would be not being aware of or having experience of the UK system - NQTs normally would have that type of experience in both their own background and their teaching practice, so it is not as simple as 'getting hired' as an NQT....

I would post your query also on jobseekers as theogriff has some excellent advice on this aspect....

best wishes

3. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter