1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can a primary bod teach secondary?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by Lilybett, Sep 12, 2011.

1. I'm a newly-qualified primary teacher (Dec '10). Couldn't get NQT post so went on supply last year and now working as LSA in secondary school.
    It's made me think... I wish I had studied English at university. English was always my THING, ever since I was in Reception class. I was the dork who got Level 8, and A*, but without ever quite knowing why, it was just a LOVE in me...!? Then I was an IDIOT and dropped it after AS Level (grade A) cos I didn't like who would have taught me into A2. Stupid, stupid girl. EVERYONE thought I'd do an English degree. Ended up doing Politics at uni and training in primary.
    English is always my favourite subject to teach and I'm good at it because my enthusiasm is catching. I inwardly roll my eyes when teach stuff like D&T (no offence to any teachers of it, I just don't find it interesting) --- and now I've seen the amazing stuff secondary English teachers can do (teach clever kids up to A Level, share your love with budding book worms, try to engage those who think English is 'gay' and 'lame' and irrelevant and worse, try to find ways of proving how exciting it can be, showing kids it's a way to understand the world around them and express how they fit into it...), I waaant it! Is there any way I can have it? Do I need to get an English degree? (Without a lottery win?)
    If I can't teach English... how about Citizenship...? Would I need to do ITT again? Do I have to work in primary for a few years first so I don't look like a major flake?