1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Calling all Key Stage 1 Teachers

Discussion in 'Primary' started by nc_marsden, Aug 4, 2011.

1. nc_marsden

nc_marsden New commenter

Hi, I am new to Key Stage 1, infact as an NQT new to teaching in general :D
    Whats the best piece of advice you could offer? One i was given recently was 'no smiles until Christmas'
    What has been your most enjoyable topic/lesson to teach?
    This post is more to be nosey, but also to stop me from being apprehensive about joining KS1!
    Also (one final question) any suggestions for activities for the very first few days with my new class?
    [​IMG]
    THANKSSS

2. nc_marsden

nc_marsden New commenter

Hi, I am new to Key Stage 1, infact as an NQT new to teaching in general :D
    Whats the best piece of advice you could offer? One i was given recently was 'no smiles until Christmas'
    What has been your most enjoyable topic/lesson to teach?
    This post is more to be nosey, but also to stop me from being apprehensive about joining KS1!
    Also (one final question) any suggestions for activities for the very first few days with my new class?
    [​IMG]
    THANKSSS

3. My advice would be to ignore the old "no smiles until Christmas" advice, you're in KS1 for goodness sake. [​IMG]
    On a serious note - don't try to reinvent the wheel, make sure you take time to do fun stuff at weekends that is not school related, if you don't understand something (e.g. teacher jargon) ASK, if you need help ask for it, you will be on a very steep learning curve this year and will get very tired, you will probably cry at some point during the year but don't worry about it (I haven't met an NQT yet who hasn't)
    KS1 rocks enjoy it.