1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

C&G 7303 PTTLS - MICRO TEACH

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by SusieMc, Feb 28, 2008.

1. I have recently taken the first steps towards developing my interest in teaching and am currently studying the City & Guilds 7303 Preparing To Teach In The Lifelong Learning Sector on a part time basis whilst working full time as a regional manager (non educational sector). My hope is to work with adults within the FE sector eventually. I now need to start thinking about delivering a 30 minute micro teach which I am finding a bit perplexing as I am not in (nor ever have been)in any kind of teaching or training environment before. As I am a mature student and new to this environment I don't really know what area of learning I would like to teach in yet - consequently, I am really struggling with trying to think of a subject which I can deliver at the end of the course for the micro teach. My tutor has suggested developing a scheme of work and lesson plan around a hobby - but the fact is I don't have time for hobbies as my 'day job' is quite demanding. Sad but true! Does anyone have any ideas that may help me actually choose a subject area as my brain seems to have come to a standstill in terms of thinking of something relatively simple that I could deliver. I have just started a new job working for a Children's Hospice (Business Development) and I did think about looking at Corporate Social Responsibility as a subject (even though it would be a steep learning curve for me to start researching this topic)but how do I turn that into a scheme of work and lesson plan for the micro-teach? Help!!!