1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

C/D borderline-PLEASE help

Discussion in 'English' started by lizfee, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm in dire need of some help.
    My year 11's (31 c/d borderline kids) are still not "getting it" in terms of what they need for a C grade (AQA legacy spec language). My deputy head has called me up and basically said I'm a rubbish teacher because of this. (He snuck in and interrogated them while I was off sick yesterday) I am gutted. I've tried lots of strategies,work really hard with them,they do try,work hard in lessons,do their h/w but it's STILL not sticking...(I'm "failing" them) That's why I'm in dire need of some help. I hate to ask for stuff but I'm really miserable and in need of a bit of support ( I'm really not getting any in my school). Does anyone have any lesson materials/work samples/model answers/ideas that might help? I've got piles of resources to share in exchange for some help.
    Thank you in advance,
    A very,very miserable Liz :(

2. GloriaSunshine

GloriaSunshine New commenter

Do they know (individually) what they need to do in order to move themselves from D to C? Do they know what Grade C answers/essays look like? If they're borderline, they must all be doing some things right - do they have individual targets?
    I think at this point, it's a bit late for whole class fixes unless there are one or two things that they all lose marks on.

3. I'm guessing that the deputy head understands all about C/D grades and league tables and marking schemes, but not about English.