1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Buying a piano

Discussion in 'Music' started by oliverferret, Feb 16, 2011.

1. oliverferret

oliverferret New commenter

I am not a musician but have up to £3000 to spend on piano for my children. We used to have a yahama digital piano but it was written off when our house was flooded; my son has requested an acoustic piano this time round. I have been looking at Yamaha U3 but they are all from 1980s in my price range - is this old for a piano? I'd be grateful for any buying tips. Thanks

2. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

Don't know where you live, but when I bought my piano - about 10 years ago now - I was able to buy a Yamaha U1 brand new from J Reid for the same price as second-hand ones more locally. Please look here:
    http://jreidpianos.co.uk/blog/
    There are on Tottenham Court Road, London

3. v12

v12

As someone who seems to earn most of his salary from playing the piano, I never thought I'd say this, but I'm a definite convert for the digital pianos - especially when space is restricted such as in a small cottage like ours. Of course, for the concert hall or recording studio, the presence and power of a good quality piano is essential.
    For £3000 you might get a reasonable upright of dubious make, but you would still need to pay to have it tuned two or three times a year - and, of course, the modern digital pianos offer many 'useful' facilities such as recording, volume adjustment, a variety of temperaments, different keyboard voicings and so forth.
    My Roland HP-3e is every bit as good as a piano in its present location - and was considerably cheaper than £3000.

4. Doitforfree

Doitforfree Senior commenter