1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Business BTEC - How do I get them working

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by MrLock, May 2, 2011.

1. So I'm an experienced teacher, though I only taught Business for the first time this year, as a new course. I usually teach Maths, and I'm finding BTEC particularly challenging.
    In particular, I've written assignment briefs which I think are engaging. I've allowed them to hand in work online; I've fed back on everything I've had handed in... but the issue is
    They just have to complete stuff!!
    What I mean is, I usually break down lessons into very small chunks... complete these three questions, model this, discuss that, and so on. To meet the criteria in Business, the students simply have to complete large chunks of work, and I can't keep their attention for that long. Longer than 20 minutes seems like an age to 14 year olds and so there is no sense of urgency, and yet I don't feel like I can chunk down the assignments any more than I have. I feel like I'm spoon-feeding too much already (and it's literally impossible to do that for all 30 students), so there are few students who have met all the pass criteria for the assignments we've done already.
    Now a little bit of this is because I wasn't as familiar as I could have been with the spec; one or two assignments have changed as we've gone along, and I will be better at this second time around, but at the same time, with this group I don't have the sense of purpose I would expect with a group I've taught for two terms.
    I teach them 2 out of 3 lessons a week due to timetabling constraints. This clearly is part of the issue, but I'm not after excuses - I'm after help and solutions.