1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Burn out.

Discussion in 'Personal' started by soapboxgirl, Nov 4, 2010.

1. Don't know where to start really - I've been teaching for nearly 4 years now and I am feeling thoroughly burnt out, constantly tired, headaches, don't sleep at night etc. I'm not posting for sympathy, I just don't know how to deal with this. I'm taking 100mg of Prozac per day and although I don't really feel depressed as such, I am struggling with the pressure of work and the constant stress we've been put under for the last year. We've just undergone our 3rd inspection of the year and we're not even a school that is in special measures. My doctor is telling me that I should find anthother job (believe me, I've been looking for some time) or consider going part time. I feel that if something doesn't give soon, I'm going to end up on long term sick leave, but fear having that on my employment record. Any advice from anyone would be appreciated.