1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

BTEC Creative digital media production - teachers pack

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by ClaireHall1, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Hi,

Has anyone bought the BTEC Level 2 First Creative Media Production Teaching Resource Pack. Is it any good? Are there any other alternatives?

This is my first year of teaching and i have been asked to setup media studies. I have created resources for most of the units but so close to september i feel i may not be able to create everything, buying the resource pack might be easier. What would the more experience teachers think of this?

Many thanks in advance.

2. i haven't bothered, i quite often find them a bit formulaic and like to make the projects have a local focus (so as to tie in a good cheapy local trip).

3. Zoki59

Zoki59 New commenter

I have bought Unit 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 I think. The SOW's are good, and can be adapted. But my issue is I could do with some good media textbooks, or reference books in my class that covers everything in the spec - especially for Unit 1. I need some ideas generally now about how to teach theory based work to pupils without standing there going through a PowerPoint with them.

4. timrahman

timrahman New commenter

How are you finding the course? I can't stand it. The requirements for the basic tasks are utterly absurd and the example exam they gave out is a total joke - they have ruined the course IMO.

If anyone is teaching the video production unit and has any exemplar work for task 1 could you let me know, it seems ridiculously difficult.

5. Isnt the video production unit for teh old spec?