1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

BTEC Applied Science Level 2 & 3 support

Discussion in 'Science' started by rumexer, Nov 11, 2009.

1. Hello,
    I've recently taken over a Science department in a college and am in need of some support. I'm completely new to BTEC but I think I have a fairly good grasp of what is needed.
    We have been delivering BTEC Applied Science First and National Diploma for several years. A lot of the assignments appear not fit for purpose and previous department heads seem to have managed to cover this up during EV without properly dealing with the problem.
    Over the next few weeks I will be providing sessions for my staff on effective assignment design with some outside support so that we can prepare for the new specs and fix a lot of very badly designed assignments which are being given to students.
    I was hoping that someone out there may be willing to share their excellent assignment briefs with me so that we can adapt them for use in our department. I am aware of the following site:
    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Applied_Science_BTEC_Nationals
    but can't find much else out there.
    I would be extremely grateful for any support at this stage.
    Thank you.

2. pink_reindeer

pink_reindeer New commenter

I could maybe help? Well, I've taught level 1, 2 and currently getting to grips with level 3. Trouble is, I'm in a Welsh medium school so obviously all scenarios etc in Welsh. I can send them to you if you want to translate them?