1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

British Citizen but trained in the West Indies

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by tashafran, Aug 11, 2012.

1. Is there anyone on this forum who could address my questions?
    I am a British citizen who has been living in Jamaica since I was a teenager. I have been teaching for 10 years and was trained at The University of the West Indies. I possess a BA in Literature, a post-graduate Diploma in Education (English) and an MEd. in Language Education:English.
    I am planning to return to London (where i was born) to teach.
    Does anyone have any advice on how I go about getting a teaching job at the secondary level? Would I have to get a PGCE in the UK before I can be employed? Would my 10 years of teaching experience give me automatic QTS? Would I be treated as a NQT since I have no UK teaching experience?
    Is there anyone from the West Indies who has an teaching experience in the UK?

2. Is there anyone on this forum who could address my questions?
    I am a British citizen who has been living in Jamaica since I was a teenager. I have been teaching for 10 years and was trained at The University of the West Indies. I possess a BA in Literature, a post-graduate Diploma in Education (English) and an MEd. in Language Education:English.
    I am planning to return to London (where i was born) to teach.
    Does anyone have any advice on how I go about getting a teaching job at the secondary level? Would I have to get a PGCE in the UK before I can be employed? Would my 10 years of teaching experience give me automatic QTS? Would I be treated as a NQT since I have no UK teaching experience?