1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Brit moving from USA to Spain

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by phoenixvita, Nov 14, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I just joined TES. I am a British citizen, based in the USA wishing to move to Spain for next academic year. I have 5 years' experience working with children. Right now I am a Behaviour Therapist in Los Angeles who provides individual service to an autistic child in primary school. The child has to integrate into the regular school environment. As part of the integration process I work as a Teacher's Assistant - teaching core subjects like English and Math. I have also been able to teach Art. Other duties are recess/yard monitor, etc. I ave done this for two years.
    Prior to this I workedfor two years as an Art Instructor for a school's After School Program in Washington, DC. I also taught English and Math there - at primary school level. During the Summer I did Summer Camp, running among things comic book workshop, introduction to Animation and doing Art murals etc.
    I would like to teach Art, comics/Animation theory or English at primary school level; preferably at a bilingual or international school, so here is the thing: despite my experience: - a degree in Animation, available work references and photos of me at work with children, I do not have official teaching credentials.
    Is it still possible to find a good job despite this? I have already received a positive response for an American school (not based in Europe). In Spain I have found at least one school I am interested in. I have a Spanish friend who says that schools in Spain currently need native English speakers -,she thinks it is a good move for me.