1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Bringing in ingredients for Food Technology

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by sazulike, Apr 19, 2011.

1. Hi Guy's,
    I'm currently studying for my PGCE and for my research project I'm looking into the cost to parents of their child studying Food Technology and whether this causes any problems. I would love to hear from you if you've had problems with parents not supplying ingredients for certain recipes, whether you buy ingredients in for some pupils and if you have provision for students that qualify for free school meals or anything you do in school to help parents out.

Many Thanks[​IMG]

2. Guy's??

3. It's important to make things the students like and made with low cost ingredients. I have had a parent write to say they wouldn't buy ingredients because they don't eat salads! I gave them lots of choices. It was not as if I said "you must make .."
    We do pay for ingredients for GCSE students sometimes e.g. Catering if they won't need very much of it and not likely to use it again.e.g. chopping parsley for the garnish
    We do discuss what else you could make with the rest of the packet.
    Its always a problem for students who have chosen food as a GCSE subject and then can't afford ingredients. It has to be equal opportunities but sometimes I wish they wouldn't choose it because even when we buy them ingredients or they have some of mine they don't seem to want to take it home. By the time you realise they have not come back for it at the end of the day it has to be thrown out .