1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Brand new book arrived

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by Bodegabuttons, Jan 13, 2011.

1. My brand new book 'Toast' by Nigel Slator arrived today - yay! Was a great drama so looking forward to reading the book! Has anyone read this yet?
    What's everyone elses favourite food recipe books or novels? [​IMG]
    (Rather randomly I was just thinking that this icon is weird...[​IMG])

2. That makes me wierd too then CQ. I love discovering 'new' words in the dictionary and then using them.

I'm practically self taught as mum couldn't even make 'Ready Brek. When I offered her a homemade Christmas cake this year, her reply was Marks and Spencer have them on offer, so I'll get one of those!

I wouldnt want to live without Nigel Slater's Kitchen Diaries or the Bero baking book.

3. I'm another dictionary fan!
    As a child I used to spend Saturdays reading Encylopaedias too!
    And as books were forbidden at the dining table (all meals were eaten at the table!) I used to read the food lables on My sisters' cereal and my meat paste (I went through a phase of hating anything sweet so ate meat-paste on toast for breakfast!)...learned all about vitamins from them!

4. Your mother must be the same as mine Beth, and I still read food packets to this day!

5. On another note I've been given Nintendo DS game 'Cooking Mama' as part of my birthday present. Nothing like how you really cook but fun. Yay. [​IMG]

6. I always read (and still do) food packets.
    My daugher has that - it IS fun [​IMG]