1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Boring Science

Discussion in 'Primary' started by regencyrob, Feb 16, 2011.

1. I am a 5 class teacher in a large primary school.

I find teaching science boring - I love science. I just can't get it exciting enough for my challenging class.

We can buy any resources we like - what would you suggest I do?
    WHat could I buy to make my lessons more exciting?

2. I don't think it is mainly a matter of resources or particularly money, just sharing the interest or excitement.
    Just when I got used to there being "8"planets, today I read that there may be "9" again, with another one out there 4 x the size of Jupiter, within two years it will be confirmed. The clue being the arrival angle of some comets suggest another gravitational field out there. Now that I find interesting, and how the science is developing. Much the same for the other aspects of science, find the frame to present it.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1356748/Search-Tyche-believed-largest-planet-solar-system.html?ITO=1490

3. marlin

marlin Star commenter

Make a list of all the topics you are going to cover. For each one look for every opportunity for practical work you can think of - year 5 has some great units. They don't have to be massive investigations - just hands on wherever possible. Decide if you need any equipment for this work - for example: magnifying glasses (for dissecting plants), stopwatches (human body - measuring pulse), sound meter (to measure decibels when doing work on muffling sound), batteries, wires and clips for electricty work. Make a shopping list.