1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Books to prepare for primary PGCE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by weaselwithin, Dec 31, 2010.

1. Hi everyone, hope you're all having a lovely Christmas break.
    I was wondering if anyone could recommend any books that you found invaluable or that have helped you the most so far? I'm working this year so hoping to be able to browse some at my leisure before my course starts in Sept!
    Thanks for any help, and good luck to everyone this year

2. Sillow

Sillow Senior commenter

I've just noticed my post says I've been teaching 4 months, but I'm in my second year. Odd, not sure how that happened!
    Good luck with it all, and remember, your first job will probably be quite different to the PGCE, so if it seems like lots of hard work, stick with it, it does get easier!

3. Thank you both for your help, will be looking up some of these books soon.
    I'm not really worried about swatting up for the assignments, I'm just really looking forward to the PGCE and wanted something light to read on teaching, which might give some general advice just because I'm interested, rather than books which I could actually use next year. I'm really looking forward to the course and wanted to keep my enthusiasm rolling :)
    Thanks again!

4. MrsImpossible - the download looks great! Thank you!

5. Haylock is fab for primary maths! Its been invaluable so far this year as maths is a weaker area for me! Everything is explained nicely and I referred back to it lots on my first teaching practice to make sure I knew what I was teaching!