1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Books on Programming (VB.Net)

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by A_Teacher_Of_Computing, Jan 30, 2011.

1. I've been given the chance to order some of those nice papery things for the school library, with an upper limit of £35 per book. I know there are a lot of useful websites out there but some students really learn much faster when guided with a good book (it helps stop them being distracted on the internet when working at home).

The main language we teach at GCSE and A-Level is VB.Net, and we will hopefully be upgrading to the 2010 pro IDE next year.

Does anyone have any experience with the John Smiley absolute beginner books?

Is there really such a thing as a 'Programming Games in VB.Net' book that is actually worth the money?

Is anyone already using books they can recommend?

At the moment they are using a book written by myself (still needs a little work before I add it to the resources section), the bumper book of fun (posted on here before xmas) and the 'Computing Projects in Visual Basic.net (a little out of date).

2. I've been given the chance to order some of those nice papery things for the school library, with an upper limit of £35 per book. I know there are a lot of useful websites out there but some students really learn much faster when guided with a good book (it helps stop them being distracted on the internet when working at home).

The main language we teach at GCSE and A-Level is VB.Net, and we will hopefully be upgrading to the 2010 pro IDE next year.

Does anyone have any experience with the John Smiley absolute beginner books?