1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Book Corner - Advice

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Pointyboots, Jan 14, 2012.

1. Hi
    I am a student teacher on PGCE placement and have to do a
    project while I am there. My idea is to try and increase engagement in reading
    by making the book corner and books in general more of a feature in the
    classroom as at the moment they are all kept in plastic boxes that are hard to
    go through. I am going to try and take some out and make more of a feature of
    the books but I am also going to do a display and was wondering if anyone could
    suggest any ideas for something attention grabbing. At the moment I was
    thinking of posting some front covers of books and recommendations but any better ideas would be great.
    Thanks

2. Meant to say that it is a mixed 3/4 class

3. I would suggest thinking of a book corner 'theme' and making or buying (if you want) a few props to go along with it. It is great if you can link this with a topic the children are learning about, or if not, ask the children for suggestions of what they would like.
    Last year I tried the following theme:
    Exlorers (I bought a big ikea leaf meant for children's bed for about £8 from gumtree, made vines out of sugar paper and string and put a few props like binoculars and rucsakcs from home in there.)
    Space: (I used tin foil and children's art work to decorate, as well as flying saucers made by kids from mince pie containers and paper plates)
    India: (I used old saris from home, a few props from my gap year in india and some fake flower wedding garlands from a local party shop, about £15)