1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Book about the funny things children say in school

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Sir Cumference, Nov 13, 2019.

1. Sir Cumference

Sir Cumference Occasional commenter

I’m sure that, in your staff room, you often tell each other about the funny things that children have said. It’s always good to share anecdotes and of course it’s good for morale too, in a way that celebrates childhood.

You may also have heard staff say ‘We really should write down the funny things children say: it would make a good book’. Over the forty years I was a teacher I’m sure I said it myself but, of course, like all others I was always so busy and never got round to writing the anecdotes down. Now, in my retirement, I’m offering to collect your anecdotes and put them into a self-published book for all teachers and anyone else to enjoy.

So – how about it? Could you find a moment to email an anecdote or two to me, so I might put together a unique collection?

I’m confident that, if I receive sufficient responses, I can put together a book and publish it early next year. I have lots of experience of publishing, being a writer and publisher of music for schools (see www.onemoretime.biz) and also self-publishing a book of my own stories and poems (see https://www.amazon.co.uk/Speak-Angels-Stories-Brian-Beresford/dp/1533121478)

Here are a few of the ground rules I ask you to follow, please:

· Articles must be true, celebrating childhood

· DO NOT USE REAL NAMES. Make up names of anyone involved in an anecdote so there can be no embarrassment/complaint/comeback to you or me. Similarly, do not name the school involved