1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Best way to teach differentiation at A-level?

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by cjwray, Jan 12, 2011.

1. Not having much experience of teaching A-level I was just wondering what approach people would advise? Is it best to teach from first principals or will that be too difficult for the pupils? Does anybody have any different approaches to beginning the topic of differentiation?

2. Me 4.
    I didn't understand what the heck was going on when I was a student but it sure made me wake up, pay attention and realise I was going to have to up my game.
    It's much for students to explore now with spreadsheets and other ICT.

3. I agree. You have to teach differentiation properly so that they understand the concept of what is going on, else what is the point? It is such a vital topic that underpins so much pure mathematics (differentiation, rates of change, optimisation problems, integration, differential equations, parametric equations to name a few) that to not do it properly wouldn't be fair on students capable of understanding it.
    IF once you have discovered differentiation properly, some students just can't understand it and want to just apply the rote-learning method, then fine, but these are the students who will struggle with A2 level maths.

4. No, in the same way exam boards dont state "This year we are going to make the exam paper easier than last" yet it happens.