1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Best way to negotiate salary

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Palmat, Dec 7, 2019.

1. Palmat

Palmat New commenter

I have 12 years teaching experience in the US (also have my masters) and I was just offered my first international position. I think the salary offer was decent (although I have nothing to compare it to) but I’m wondering if I should ask, in a polite way, for more money. Is there a polite way to ask for more?

Or do I just take what I was offered and be happy that I have my first international position? Just afraid I’ll kick myself for not even asking down the road. I plan on taking the position regardless.

Thanks,
    Palmat

2. february31st

february31st Established commenter

In 95% of all cases its a "take it or leave it" offer that is made, unless you are an A Level/High School Maths or Physics teacher.

The majority of international schools don't show you a meaningful pay scale so you are always left in the dark with regards to what your other teachers are earning, it can also be a top secret in the school what every person is paid.

I was recently shown a pay scale for a school in UAE that went up to 20 years experience, but you could only enter the scale at 8 years, so pointless giving my years of experience. I did question this and was offered an extra 1000AED per month, but unfortunately the school was not a place I would want my children to be educated.

You will pick up what I mean in your first year of international teaching. But talking about salary in the staff room can be the quickest way to be dragged in the principals office or even dismissed.