1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Best way into teaching as a independent parent ? (financial)

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by gdavies5, Feb 11, 2016.

1. gdavies5

gdavies5 New commenter

Hi,

I've been working as a supply instructor for 4/5 years. I want to qualify as a 'real' teacher but don't know the best way how with regards to finances.

I don't know if I could do unpaid TT, how would I live/pay child care?!-I can't find info anywhere.

Secondly I've only worked in seniors, I'd like to try infant, I've emailed a good few school and no one has got back to me. Is there a particular avenue i need to go through?

Any help will be greatly appreciated

2. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter

There is the possibility of doing a salaried School Direct programme; this is a popular route (understandably!) so there is plenty of competition, but your years of experience in school will stand you in good stead if you decide to apply for this route.

You should take a look at this website, which gives you all the options for training and funding: https://getintoteaching.education.gov.uk/explore-my-options

Teaching is popular and schools often have lots of potential volunteers to choose from. Rather than e-mailing, you might consider phoning, writing a letter, or visiting in person - all more personal approaches that might get you more noticed. If you phone or visit, don't do it at the beginning or end of the school day, when those you need to speak to will be at their busiest.

3. gdavies5

gdavies5 New commenter