1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Best time in career to have a baby?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Pl501, May 3, 2019.

1. Pl501

Pl501 New commenter

I have only been in education for about 3 years and have just gotten married.

I’m a Year 2 teacher and am interested in taking on leadership responsibilities asap.

I’ve been told I’m not ready to step into a paid position for September, but I’ve been asked to take on a KS1 lead role “unofficially” for the 2019-2020 academic , and that after a year, I’d be in a really good position to plead my case and get the job with the title and pay in 2020-2021.

I’ve also started thinking more seriously about starting a family, and would love to start trying to conceive straight away but fear what it will do to my career...

Is doing a job unofficially and without pay or recognition worth it for a whole year? What if it doesn’t even pay off - it would also mean me waiting another 2 years minimum before starting a family...

On the other hand, if I decide to try for baby stop me from moving up the ladder afterwards?

I’m so confused! What should I do?

2. Catjellycat

Catjellycat Occasional commenter

I had a baby in my second year of teaching. And then another one in my fifth year. I had no senior responsibilities before then.

I'm now in my fifteenth (jeebus) and whilst I'm not in teaching anymore, I was in the SLT in a part time position when I left.

Having the baby earlier on worked for me.

agathamorse, Pl501 and Curae like this.
  3. Pl501

Pl501 New commenter

Thank you for sharing what worked for you. Makes me feel better that it doesn't have to be one or the other.

agathamorse likes this.
  4. thejudgesscoresarein