1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Best place to save 2020

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by JINTY67, Sep 12, 2020.

1. JINTY67

JINTY67 New commenter

Hi , been teaching in Spain for 3 years . Want to move in order to save . I’ve 15 years experience , some leadership roles in lower primary and early years . Any suggestions ? Thanks

2. sid1913

sid1913 New commenter

Futile question. Depends what you cannot live without and your habits. Cheese and bread are a lot more expensive in Asia, as are flights home and to neighboring countries. Living in ME might be desirable but you’ll want to leave EVERY holiday and those short breaks add up.
    Do you need childcare? Do you put into a pension?
    I went from 4 grand a month to 2.5k a month and save the same amount but have a much better quality of life now as I can do more things that I missed doing when in Asia.

3. topquark

topquark Occasional commenter

SE Asia, top tier schools will pay well and usually offer free schooling for children if you have (or intend to have in the future). Also depends if you have a teaching partner. Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and Vietnam are good for environment, lifestyle and saving.

Middle East is not the savings haven it once was, but there are still schools were you can save.

As sid1913 points out, if you earn lots and then spend lots, you can't save a great deal. I'm in SE Asia, saving a good amount, but we are being very careful with our outgoings. Great holidays and excellent lifestyle.

4. Ne11y

Ne11y Occasional commenter