1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Berghmann Laser Cutter - any reviews?

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by JoKay01, Jun 11, 2019.

1. JoKay01

JoKay01 New commenter

Hi, I am a DT Technician, fairly new to the post, and have been charged with procuring a new Laser Cutter after it has become too costly to overhaul our existing Xenetech 600x900 laser cutter. Our funds are more limited now and the three options I have come up with are the Berghmann 60W laser cutter from Tilgear, the LS6090 PRO Laser Cutter from HPC and the TS 6090 80W from Tech Supplies (all water cooled options). My main considerations are the reliability, parts costs and ongoing support for the machines but not having much experience of what to look for I was wondering if anyone had any advise or experience of these machines. Is it more cost efficient in the long term to look at a more costly air cooled machine? At the mo we are leaning towards the Berghmann as the offer seems to be the best but I cannot find any details of where I could get ongoing servicing from. Any advise would be hugely appreciated.

2. Ex-teacher

Ex-teacher Occasional commenter

Cant help you with the new models, and dont know who you are using to overhaul your current machine, but depending where you are in the country, we found the following very helpful and knowledgeable about our universal laser, and I remember that they also supply and service xenetech lasers.

http://www.ukengravingservices.co.uk/

Personally I would steer away from any machine that you cant find out about where to get ongoing servicing from.

JoKay01 likes this.
  3. cosybear

cosybear New commenter

Have you thought about leasing the equipment ?