1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Benefits of having a masters in education?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Aug 13, 2012.

1. Sorry if this is in the wrong section. I have a good degree and graduated from university a year ago (3 year course). Since then, I've been trying very hard to get a job and keep losing out and have been a school's second choice on a number of occasions. I've been doing supply work to gain more teaching experience and voluntary work with kids too, as well as buying TES weekly, reading a lot, working very hard on my interview technique, etc. It's getting me down a bit because I know that I can be a good teacher, but there is just so much competition and not many jobs. I'm not giving up obviously. Whenever I've asked for interview feedback, it hasn't been helpful. They just said that the competition was very strong and that someone else had more experience.
    I loved going to university and being challenged and part of me really misses studying and having lectures. When I'm in interviews, a lot of the candidates are older than me (I'm 22) and PGCE students. What I am trying to work out is how to make myself shine in interviews and stand out, for the right reasons.