1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

being on supply = not getting interviews!?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by anon1369, May 17, 2011.

1. I have been on supply since qualifying last summer. When in my training year I was doing quite well receiving job interviews but there was always someone better who got the job.
    I've been applying for quite a few jobs recently and since I have changed my letter of application to state that I am currently a supply teacher I have not had a single interview. Infact my last interview was in January but as I was rushing to get the form in as it was due on the same day I forgot to include the fact I was on supply and instead just changed it to say I qualified in the summer. This could obviously just be a coincidence but I get the feeling that being on supply is putting schools off.
    Has anybody else found this? Also how do you effectively incorporate it into your letter of application? I have tried to write about the positives but I'm all out of ideas after that.

2. Yes I do agree with you, because I'm applying for permanent positions too and there has not been a 'sniff' of a possible interview. I am getting the feeling that schools see 'supply teachers' as those who are left on the side - the reason does not matter and they will not even give us a chance.
    To me it all seems very suspect. Also the fact is that we are stating the truth that we are and have been doing supply work and that thus there is no gap in our employment history and even then we are caught in this predicament even more so. For me it is important to get a job very soon as I feel that I might be losing my professional competence the longer this stay of execution continues.....