1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Being hit at work

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by SS7514, Feb 6, 2017.

1. SS7514

SS7514 New commenter

Hi,

I'm fairly new to all this and it's quite long-winded so I apologise in advance! - I started as a teaching assistant in September 2016 after graduating university to see if I like it enough to commence my Teacher training this Sept.The school I'm at has a whole new leadership team and Head that started at the same time as me.
    I started off the year fine in a Year 6 class and was really enjoying it, then in Nov I was signed off work for 2 weeks after having an emergency operation and it has all gone downhill from there. On my first day back they basically told me I'd be moving classes to a different year group and working as a one to one with a child who is on the pathway to being diagnosed with autism. I wasn't overly confident with this as I've no experience of SEN but they didn't give me a choice to refuse.
    They changed my timetable and cut my lunch hour down to half an hour without my consent, it was all just done for me and expected that I would just get on with things.