1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Being asked as an online teacher/tutor to do dyslexia assessment?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by Happyregardless, Aug 3, 2020.

1. Happyregardless

Happyregardless Occasional commenter

Hi, sorry if this is similar to a post in 'tutors' but just need some advice re SEND.

I am a primary supply teacher, currently working online during Covid-19 on a private basis.

One parent has asked me about possibly testing for Dyslexia (which should have been done aged 5-6 ideally) and the pupil is now Year 6 age. They will be going to secondary school in September, well, if things progress as the new normal etc Just from my experience with the pupil, it doesn't seem like they have an issue with Dyslexia, although they do someties read a couple of words ahead and then back to previous words, but self correct well and really not markedly different to a 'usual' year 6 child's reading. Parent has expressed concerns about dyslexia and aural memory and as they know I have experience of teaching SEND children and wondered if I could do a Dyslexia assessment. Although I have experience as a class teacher with working with SEND, I am not a qualified SENCO. I'm also not a Dyslexia Assessor or anything like that.

Someone has already pointed out in Tutors forum that Parents usually fund dyslexia assessments themselves as theire's a vicious circle of funding/not funding in primary schools, but added that the secondary school may offer support.