1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Behaviour problems in EYFS - advice please!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Daniello, Nov 19, 2010.

1. Hi there,
    I have posted this in Behaviour as well, but wanted advice specifically from EYFS ppl too :)
    I am a teacher of Foundation Stage and am dealing with quite a disruptive year group. I am looking for some advice on a particular child. He displays some Asperger-y/Autistic-y behaviour (although is not statemented and this has not been diagnosed) eg: likes order and structure, stuggles to cope when plans change, can't deal with too much going on around him, always asking what is happening next. He seems detached from himself and his own emotions. When he smiles it doesn't seem real - it's disappeared as quickly as it appeared. He doesn't seem sad or upset, just angry. There seems to be issues going on at home but his behaviour has been bad since pre school. He will often push children out of the way if they are too close, and will punch/hurt others (including teachers) for no apparent reason (the other day he started hitting and scratching me because I had asked him nicely to 'please move forward'). It is getting progressively worse - he can not transition from one thing to the next, he can not line up without hurting others. He is very sly about it and he knows when an adult is watching.