1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Behaviour Management techniques.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Findlotte, Nov 17, 2015.

1. Findlotte

Findlotte Established commenter

I'm new to the CS role and haven't received any behaviour strategies other than to follow the schools policy which is 2 verbal warnings, move the student to another seat, offer time-out or remove them via on-call (they receive a detention for this). It probably doesn't help that cover work can be poor or limited or that I'm covering some classes that haven't had a real knowledgeable teacher all term.

Physically, I'm small and can easily blend into Y11 or 6th form (despite being 7y older than them) so I don't have that "presence" that some teachers have. I'm able to quiet a class down and get on with work, but the noise levels will slowly rise to a loud level. If I ask them to quiet down again, half don't hear me or care. I don't really want to be that teacher who screams and shouts because it shows lack of control (and my voice isn't capable of screech for 6 hours a day).

If I give verbal warnings or send them out for time-out/move seats, they will move back, or return to the class but will be loud 5 mins later.
    It's not really a problem with Y7/Y8 as they tend to listen and fear the detention route, it's more the older years who are very chatty and produce little work unless I go through it with them/stand over them for the whole hour (not practical in a 30 student class).

How do you manage classes?
    What are your techniques?

2. Findlotte

3. dixonh

dixonh New commenter