1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Behaviour Issues with Adult Learners?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by KeriLO, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I am a tutor in Functional Skills, teaching literacy to small groups of learners; one of these days I spend with 16-18 year olds, which I was expecting to be more difficult in terms of behaviour management, but in actual fact it's turning out to be the group of 25-40 year old learners which is giving me most trouble! There is a lot on this forum about behaviour management in schools - does anyone have any advice on behaviour management with older learners? I'll be honest - I never expected it to be an issue, and I find myself rather baffled.
    This is a rather complex small group working at Level 1; accepting the fact that these women (as this is a women-only class, as it's turned out) evidently have quite turbulent personal lives, I'm finding the general attitude towards me declining as the weeks go on.