1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Behaviour in your school?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by WaltWhite, May 21, 2019.

1. WaltWhite

WaltWhite New commenter

Hi all,

Just had a double lesson with year 10 boys who were very chatty, argumentative. I am a good teacher - not perfect though and not someone who automatically commands respect as I enter a room. But I plan my lessons to hold the student's interest, I have good subject knowledge, and I help the students with whatever they need. However if there is a behaviour issue my school has a discipline policy where we are not allowed to keep students back after lessons. During lessons we are not allowed to send students to work in another classroom (where they would still be supervised). If we want to call home we have to ask permission from the students form tutor and this can sometimes be refused. Parents are at times defensive when I have called home about behaviour. We can issue a lunchtime detention but this can be days after the event so loses its effectiveness. Class size around 25 pupils. Single sex classes.

As a newbie to the independent sector is this behaviour and discipline policy the norm?

2. dts

dts Occasional commenter

That's not been the norm in schools where I have worked. However, I do think that independents often have two issues which can make dealing with poor behaviour more challenging:
    - generally very good behaviour, such that there aren't really any systems for dealing with bad behaviour when it does occur.
    - a fear of upsetting parents, especially in smaller or struggling schools where parents have a great deal of power (and know it).

3. WaltWhite

WaltWhite New commenter