1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Behaviour - can I learn how to control it?

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by jonewell, Sep 10, 2012.

1. I am a TA with 6 years experience. I cover PPA and teach languages in my primary school. I gained my HLTA last summer. I cannot get a class to behave as well for me as their teacher. It is not very noticeable in KS1 but is in upper KS2. It isn't awful behaviour but the children do chat more even though I use the strategies I observe my colleagues using.

I am currently studying my biology GCSE in order to apply to teach. I love working in a school and would love to step up. However, I suppose I am feeling that I don't want to jump through all the hoops / incur expense to find that, eventually you either have class control, or you don't.

I do lunch duties as well as work as a TA when not covering classes too.

Thoughts please!

2. I am a TA with 6 years experience. I cover PPA and teach languages in my primary school. I gained my HLTA last summer. I cannot get a class to behave as well for me as their teacher. It is not very noticeable in KS1 but is in upper KS2. It isn't awful behaviour but the children do chat more even though I use the strategies I observe my colleagues using.

I am currently studying my biology GCSE in order to apply to teach. I love working in a school and would love to step up. However, I suppose I am feeling that I don't want to jump through all the hoops / incur expense to find that, eventually you either have class control, or you don't.

I do lunch duties as well as work as a TA when not covering classes too.

Thoughts please!

3. zoobiezoo

zoobiezoo New commenter