1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Behaving like I am not there

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Cleg145, Mar 9, 2011.

1. <font size="2">I am a secondary Music teacher, who has taught in London schools for 4 years. Most of my schools have been pretty tough and I have coped accordingly and felt like I have made a difference. I have also taught as a supply teacher, visiting many different schools across London. There are some good schools in London and not just in the affluent areas. I have heard too many people say that poverty excuses pupil&rsquo;s behaviour. I just don&rsquo;t buy it.</font>
    Currently I am teaching in a long term supply role, covering a Head of Music. At least 60 percent of my year 10 BTEC class couldn&rsquo;t give a damn that they chose Music, refuse to work and cause a lot of noise in lessons, disturbing those trying to work. KS3 classes are poorly disciplined throughout most of the school and so when I introduce rules to them in Music they look confused and some refuse to respond.
    Your responses please. Thank you.

2. <font size="2">I am a secondary Music teacher, who has taught in London schools for 4 years. Most of my schools have been pretty tough and I have coped accordingly and felt like I have made a difference. I have also taught as a supply teacher, visiting many different schools across London. There are some good schools in London and not just in the affluent areas. I have heard too many people say that poverty excuses pupil&rsquo;s behaviour. I just don&rsquo;t buy it.</font>