1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Been referred to occupational health and worried.

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Jan245, Oct 5, 2018.

1. Jan245

Jan245 New commenter

Hi everybody. I am a teacher in Year 6. I have been teaching for 3 years. I am currently signed off for a month with depression after bursting into tears in front of my class and telling them I hate them. I have recently joined the school and moved house. I thibk it all got too much.school have asked me to see Occupational Health if I want to return or I can leave with a months notice. The occupational health appointment is a phone call not face to face. Is this normal. I'm so worried. Thankyou

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

HI Jan245

Sorry you have this dilemma. Teaching is a stressful job and together with moving house, it is understandable that you became overwhelmed. What you need to do is this:

1. Monday morning, first thing, phone your union and explain what has happened. They will advise you regarding the meeting with Occupational Health meeting being held via telephone conferencing and all the other legal things you need to know. Don't agree to anything with the school until you have phoned your union first.

2. In the meantime, please phone the Educational Support Partnership as they also have trained counsellors who will be able to speak to you regarding your situation. Their details are pinned at the top of the Work Place Dilemma forum.

3. Keep following your doctor's advice regarding what you need to do in connection with getting better.