1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Been put on an Informal Support Plan...

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by CallMeJohn, Nov 28, 2016.

1. CallMeJohn

CallMeJohn New commenter

Hi there,

I've been teaching for twenty years, but...

I've been put on an "informal support plan" and told there are three possible outcomes: pass it, with no further action required, continue on the support plan for a longer period, or be put on formal capability proceedings (gulp).

I can't afford to go through formal capability proceedings. I have a family and a mortgage to worry about!

So, I have started looking immediately for another job.

My question is: how does this work with regards to a reference from the school... I'm worried that being on this "informal" support plan could jeopardise my reference from the headteacher... Any thoughts?

2. install

install Star commenter

See your Union @CallMeJohn . For all you know it could be a ruse being used on everyone for all the wrong reasons.

Sounds quite threatening too - how imformal is informal? Does that mean no paperwork ?

Shedman likes this.
  3. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

normally simply means you are too expensive for the school, and they won't do anything to hinder you moving on, quite the reverse, in fact.

4. 9497

9497 New commenter

Regional union rep now.

I am sorry to hear another teacher having to go through this, your days at the school are numbered.