1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Been asked to set work even though I am signed off ‘unfit to work’.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by cllabry, Feb 23, 2020.

1. cllabry

cllabry New commenter

What do I do? Do I set work? Or not!! Going to join a union tomorrow as I work as an instructor but I have been signed off for two weeks.

2. Morninglover

Morninglover Lead commenter

If you are ill you shouldn't set work. But if you can (say you have a broken ankle or similar), I'm sure your colleagues and pupils would be grateful if you could set something so they do not get behind etc.

Pomza and Piranha like this.
  3. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

Taking this question on a case by case basis, you are evidently able to type ie you have posted this question.
    So in your shoes I'd type an email to the school, stating at what point your groups are in the scheme of work and where the scheme of work can be located. I'd then finish with the understanding that this ought to be enough given that you are not well enough to set cover work. Close your emails and don't look again to see if there is a reply. You have indicated this is your intention by the statement I suggest.
    The short answer is, if you can set cover work and don't mind doing it, then do so as obviously it will be useful all round, but if you are not well enough it is the paid role of your head of faculty or department to be able to sort something out for anybody who is absent n their team. they are not allowed to expect it of you or issue it as a directive if you are off and unfit to work. Technically this does not prevent them asking for it, because you can always say "no".