1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Becoming a teacher educator

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by knobie, Jul 7, 2015.

1. Hi,

Does anyone have any advice or information on becoming a teacher in a teacher-training program? I've been teaching for nine years in primary; the last as an assistant head. I also have a 1yr diploma in Early Childhood Education and a Masters in Education from the States.

Thanks.

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

Do you mean a PGCE programme?

If so, you may find options are limited. There has been a massive push in the last five years for teachers to be trained in schools, with the mentoring firmly placed upon school staff. PGCEs do exist, but those that do have had funding cut.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, as CW says, this is a shrinking area, with redundancies rather than appointments.

Perhaps you should consider joining a Teaching School?

But if you are sill very keen, read this:

Becoming a Teacher Educator in a University

Best wishes

Meet Theo on line on the TES JobSeekers Forum, where she answers jobseeking and careers queries regularly each week.

4. Dear Theo,

I have just been looking at various threads regarding career opportunities in education the of teachers.

I'm a special needs teacher with over 25 years experience, a PGCE in teaching pupils with severe learning difficulties and I've recently gained an MEd in autism from the University of Birmingham. I'm now a senior teacher at my current special school and have delivered various after school INSET training at the school which I thoroughly enjoyed delivering.