1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Becoming a Secondary School Art Teacher

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by k8ew8e, Feb 21, 2011.

1. Hi! I'm getting really confused and just wondering if anyone can help...
    I completed my degree in Fine Art just over 3 years ago and since then I have been working in customer service without much focus on my artistic practice.
    I decided this January that I wanted to become a teacher, and since then I have been working as hard as possible to get some work experience. I have sent out letters and emails to local schools and youth clubs, but have only managed to go on one observation day in a school so far. I have another one coming up with a different school at the beginning of march and a meeting with someone this week about volunteering in youth centres. I applied to my local GTP scheme and was invited for interview a few weeks ago, but didn't get in because I was told I would need at least one year's teaching experience to get on the course and was advised to apply to becaome a Teaching Assistant. I have only seen a few support staff jobs advertised for a Learning Mentor and Cover Supervisor, both of which I feel very unqualified for. I do have experience working with young people: at university I ran a series of six art workshops for 14-16 year olds who had been excluded from school for behavioral issues. This was a fantastic opportunity but happened quite a while ago. Unfortunately I work full time and am on a very irregular shift pattern, which doesn't help either...