1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Becoming a media teacher...

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by frann1e, Sep 21, 2016.

1. frann1e

frann1e New commenter

Hi everyone,

I have a question and seen some negative things and wondered if I could get any help and advice?

I went to university and graduated in 2010 with a 2.2 in Media culture and production. I have been working in the industry for over 6 years and currently working as a corporate video producer. I have always loved school and looking for a career change to become a media teacher. Doing some research I have seen some negative comments that I would struggle to get a media teaching role after becoming qualified. I also wondered if there was a way to route in to teach things such as media and photography? My other worry is I am dyslexic and worried this may slow me down.

Any help advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

You'd be more likely to see media and photography taught in Further Education settings (colleges etc.) rather than secondary schools - as such you'd be better off doing a PGCE in FE rather than secondary, so it's a totally different course and funding etc. Look on some FE college websites in your area to see what courses they offer, and consider if you've got the background to teach any of them.

I don't think there will be many jobs for media and photography even at FE though, and any jobs that are available will probably have less favourable conditions than secondary schools (such as not being on a permanent contract).