1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Becoming a History Teacher with a Politics Degree

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by virubenn, May 28, 2019.

1. virubenn

virubenn New commenter

Hi all,

I have just graduated from LSE with an MSc in Political Theory. I worked in the private sector for a brief period but decided it's not for me. Instead, I would really like to pursue a career in teaching.
    In particular, I would like to be a secondary school History and Politics tutor.

I was wondering how best to pursue this as I don't have a history degree and the course content is not 50% history.

I began with a joint BA in History and Politics but transferred to a pure Politics degree to take more IR modules.

In terms of a long term plan, would it be possible to become a history teacher?

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

It is possible. Im a Subject Leader in History and have worked with people with Politics, Classics, and Archeaology. But you'll have to really sell yourself at ITT interviews that you are as confident with the History content of the curriculum as others with full History degrees.

Bear in mind you could also be asked to teach RS, Sociology, as well as History and Politics. Good luck!

agathamorse and DYNAMO67 like this.
  3. DYNAMO67

DYNAMO67 Lead commenter

Same as above in terms of role here.... your first hurdle is getting a training place. As you’re from LSE, I wouldn’t discount your application as an employer, but you could be sure as anything I’d be grilling you in interview to satisfy myself that you had the knowledge and passion for history teaching, and you weren’t a candidate who simply was doing history ‘on the side’

4. impossibility