1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Become a teacher of other subjects on top of main teaching subject

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by shoroboo525, Jul 4, 2019.

1. shoroboo525

shoroboo525 New commenter

Hi teachers of secondary education,

I believe that most of you are ready for a nice summer holiday.

I am a teacher of Mandarin with QTS and I am thinking to prepare myself teaching math and Spanish unto GCSE level in the future.
    My question is, what do I need to do in order to teach other subjects? By attending SKE course or taking subject knowledge test?

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

The bottom line is that you have to convince a head that you're capable of teaching these subjects. If you can do that, you're home and dry.
    If you're in a school already, talk to your head or one of the deputies and see what they think. Also talk to the heads of maths and MFL.
    If you're not in a school. Don't rush.
    First of all, clarify to yourself the qualifications and experience you have to teach these subjects. Read the exam specs. Look at subject based textbooks.
    Have a go at some GCSE papers. when you look at the papers, think not just about whether you know the answers, but how you would explain to a struggling year 11 how to solve an inequality or how to translate a bit of Spanish.

Then, see what subject enhancement courses are available.

I would be inclined to do one subject first and get some experience teaching it, then do the other. Trying to do both will possibly result in neither going as well as they might.